Hartford Fire Department
436 East Main St.
Hartford, MI 49057
(269) 621-4707 non-emergency

On September 13, 1973 Hartford Township and the City of Hartford entered into an agreement to jointly support the Hartford Fire Department.

The Fire Department is run by a Fire Board which consists of five members. Two appointed by the Township, two appointed by the City and one at-large.

Current Fire Board Members:
Steve Starner
Chad Hunt
Jerry Birmele
Robert Walker
Larry Anchor
Township Representative
Township Representative
City Representative
City Representative
At Large

Medic 1 Ambulance Service - www.medic1ambulance.org
PO Box 1563
Benton Harbor, MI 49023
(269) 925-2141 non-emergency

In 1988 Hartford Township joined the Community Emergency Service (Medic 1)

Medic 1 Ambulance is operated by a board of directors which meets monthly. Each owner governmental unit appoints one person to the board. The board is subject to the Open Meetings Act, the Freedom of Information Act and is required to have an annual audit by CPA.

Township Representative to the Medic 1 Board:     Ron Sefcik

Van Buren County Sheriff Department - www.vanburencountysheriff.com
205 South Kalamazoo
Paw Paw, MI 49079

The Van Buren County Sheriff Department provides police protection in the Township.

In 2014 a Deputy was assigned to patrol Hartford Township on a full-time basis.